University of Technology, Sydney

Staff directory | Webmail | Maps | Newsroom | What's on
Engineering and Information Technology Home

Concrete evidence of excellence

Recent UTS graduate Craig Scheffers and Faculty of Engineering and IT Senior Lecturer Dr R Sri Ravindrarajah have won Engineers Australia's 2010 Warren Medal for civil engineering. 

Barry Tonkin of the Civil College Board presents the Warren Medal to Craig Scheffers, courtesy Engineers Australia

Barry Tonkin of the Civil College Board presents the Warren Medal to Craig Scheffers, courtesy Engineers Australia

Presented at the at the Engineers Australia Civil College awards dinner in Canberra last week, the pair won for the excellence of the paper Bearing Strength of Concrete With and Without Fibre Reinforced Polymer Confinement. 

Based on Craig's 2008 capstone project for his Bachelor of Engineering/Diploma in Engineering Practice, the paper was published and presented as part of the conference proceedings at the 24th Biennial Conference of the Concrete Institute of Australia last year.

Craig performed an experimental investigation involving construction of a large number of concrete specimens and wrapped the concrete with a carbon fibre reinforced polymer (CFRP) composite sheet to confine the concrete and provide lateral restraint.

Limited previous research had been conducted analysing the effect on the bearing strength of CFRP confined concrete. Craig's investigation found that the bearing strength of concrete can be significantly increased by wrapping the concrete element with a CFRP composite material.

He found CFRP confinement could be applied to strengthen concrete elements subject to bearing load conditions such as beams, columns or slabs with localised compression loads, pad footings, bridge headstocks, end blocks of pre-stressed and post-tensioned structural elements and seismic isolation elements.

Accepting the award Craig said, "I would like to thank Dr Ravindrarajah for his guidance and leadership in my studies at university, as well as his co-authorship of my technical papers.

"I would also like to thank my colleagues at AECOM Australia Pty Ltd, who support my work and professional development as a young engineer."

The Warren Medal, established in 1929, perpetuates the memory of Professor W H Warren who was the first President of the Institution of Engineers Australia (now Engineers Australia), and is awarded annually for the paper selected by the Engineers Australia Board of the Civil College of Engineers as the best paper in the discipline of civil engineering.

Back to UTS: Engineering past news and events